Our Moods Are Not Climate Science

Ray Katz
3 min readSep 29, 2023

We may have a doomer temperament, but Nature doesn’t care.

As I write these words, I am on a train headed to New York City — the governor has declared a state of emergency due to flooding and continued strong rain. There is no escaping the climate crisis, even when going away for a weekend of rest and recreation.

That could put me in a really bad mood. Could. Actually, it hasn’t. I try to deal with whatever fate sends my way as cheerfully as possible. And since I’ve dealt with much worse, it’s not tough for me to keep smiling.

But this got me to think about moods and the climate crisis. It’s important to remember that moods are not science. If I feel good, it doesn’t mean everything will be okay. If I feel bad, it doesn’t mean we are all doomed.

Nature and chemistry and physics obey their own immutable rules. And scientists say we are in a dire situation, but not doomed yet. Yeah, I’m sure you can find “experts” or simply loud pundits to say that we are doomed. You can similarly find others who declare that there is no climate crisis at all.

I ignore them. My time and life is too valuable and limited to waste on such foolishness.

I listen to the scientists. So should you. So should leaders in government and business. But politicians and businessmen are…

--

--

Ray Katz

Internet pioneer. But I’m most interested in stabilizing the Earth’s climate and promoting our common humanity. WeAreSaners.org